Connections – ch. 28-36

I have a personal connection this week. πŸ™‚ Enjoy.

“So I sit. He’s on the backrest and I’m on the seat. We don’t touch. We don’t speak. We aren’t even at eye level with one another. And today, for the first time since I came to this school, the courtyard isn’t nearly so horrible after all.” (221).

This reminds me of when I became friends with my friend Kevin. I had gotten out of an abusive relationship and school was like a war zone. Friends fled, strangers stared, I’m pretty sure rumors I was pregnant went around 4 different times (yet I never gained a pound!). When bathroom stalls no longer provide comfort and the voices of the unspoken speak louder than the chatter in the halls- you need a friend.

Back to my connection- Nastya really dislikes this school and I hated mine. She hides during breaks and tries to be completely alone because she’s depressed and prefers to alienate herself. I would do that exact thing, whenever someone came up to talk to me was the downer of my whole day. When I found Kevin though, he gave me a place to sit. I hung with his group which eventually left but he always stayed- giving me a place to sit and suddenly my school didn’t seem so utterly horrible anymore.

Love ya Kevin.

Hope you enjoyed my story.

-Alex

2 thoughts on “Connections – ch. 28-36

  1. I really liked your connection πŸ™‚ I understand how that feels, hating your school and not finding a friend.
    Not that I hated Middle College ever, but finding you was a smaller version of your finding Kevin πŸ™‚

    -Emma

    Like

Leave a Reply

