Week 3- Passage

“I believe in God, Sunshine. I’ve always believed that God exists,” he says.

And what he says next isn’t self-pity or angst or melodrama. It’s truth.

“I just know he hates me.”

. . . Nothing about it is ridiculous. When you watch every person you love systematically removed from your life until at seventeen years old there is no one left, how can you think anything else? It makes such perfect sense that the only thing that surprises me is that I didn’t think of it myself.” (196)

This line, I think, is important because you see how Josh views the world. He views it through a pessimistic eye and his view is completely justified. Why would he view the world as anything other than a hell-hole when everyone has been taken from him? That last line though, “. . .I didn’t think of it myself,” I think it’s Nastya’s way of saying maybe God hates her too. Just maybe.

What do you think?

See you next time ~Alex

One thought on “Week 3- Passage

  1. This quote did surprise me. Like Nastya, I didn’t expect Josh to believe in God. But when he brought up the hate part, I just rolled my eyes. I knew there’d be a punch line. I think we all have days where we think God hates us. Josh definitely deserves the right to use that line. It was pretty funny, in a morbid dead-parent-not-funny way. When Nastya brought up about not thinking about it for herself, I thought it was cute. They can relate to their troubles and bond over it. I liked that she didn’t offer him sympathy. Because in those situations, it really doesn’t help. I think her reaction was perfect though. Her internal monologue was the cherry on top!

    Great quote, Alex ❤
    -Em

    Like

Leave a Reply

