Week 3- Discussion Post

Hope you enjoyed this week of reading! 🙂 Here are the questions to make your brain think (; My book is full of little post-its!

1413864173467.2

1. Why do you think Josh got so angry at Drew’s family’s comments about Nastya? When Drew spoke up against Sarah do you believe it was right of Josh to then turn on him as well? Did Sarah have a point to call Josh out asking him what was his problem? (P. 153-155)

My personal commentary is that I believe Josh was so angry all starting with Sarah talking bad about Nastya. Josh is the only one Nastya has ever spoken too, which in turn implies he’s really the only she deems trust-worthy. When Drew told Sarah to shut up, I think Josh should have probably ignored it. Drew, in his loud obnoxious way, was trying to accomplish the same goal as Josh- stop the bashing on Nastya. I think Josh only lashed on Drew purely because it was heat of the moment and let’s be honest- Drew has been horrible to Nastya. I think Sarah calling him out was justified because no one in that room knew Josh and Nastya had spoken.  Josh wasn’t about to break that promise, so getting mad over a girl “who can’t talk,” (153), was completely out of line for a night at Drew’s.

2. Why do you think Josh claims he doesn’t care about Nastya? 

“‘Why are you telling me this? Shouldn’t you be talking to Drew?”

‘Drew doesn’t care.”

Her accusation is clear and I answer it.

‘Neither do I.'” (155)

I think he is purely trying to hide his true feelings for Nastya. Everything right now for him must be so confusing. Is she just using him? Does she even like him? Does he even like her? Drew’s mom was talking to him about how she probably needs help and Josh just probably doesn’t want this weight of her well-being on his shoulders. Since Drew is the one who is trying to sleep with her he’s trying to pass on the guilt to him and it just isn’t working.

3. Refer back to page 134, when Nastya first talks.

“‘And I’m supposed to trust you?” I say to her back. This girl really is crazy if she thinks she’s walking in here, out of nowhere, and expecting me to do that. 

She stops, turning to level her eyes at me before she goes.

“You don’t have to trust me. I don’t have any of your secrets.”‘ (134).

Now refer to page 171.

“I have one of Josh Bennette’s secrets now. He gave it to me.” (171).

How do you think Nastya was feeling when Josh put trust in her? He wasn’t too keen on the idea earlier in the book, what do you think made him change his mind? What is the importance of this to their relationship?

I loved that line about him giving her his secret. It was so innocent, so adorable. Okay onto the question. I think Nastya felt sort of relieved. She had shared and confided in him and now finally he was returning the favor. I think him changing his mind was due to the fact that Nastya hasn’t left and hasn’t given him any reason not to trust her- it’s not like she’ll tell anyone. (; This is super important to their relationship because they need trust!! 

One thought on “Week 3- Discussion Post

  1. 1. Josh and Nastya had both been wondering what their motives were. Even when she showed up in her black gear, they accepted her. Now Sarah has the chance to bad-mouth. I think Josh turned it on the whole family because he felt like their feigned (?) acceptance of Nastya reflected on their acceptance of him. I think Sarah is the kind of person to ask people what their problem is, when she provoked their reaction. Did she really expect him to not say anything?

    2. I think he doesn’t want to admit to himself that he cares. During this time, he hadn’t seen Nastya in over a week. She was at her parents, and then she was at Clay’s. He misses her! He lashed out Mrs. Leighton, and now she’s doing that mom-magic thing where she reads his mind. Part of me wants to say that he answered that way as a punishment to her. Like an ‘oh, you think she needs to be fixed? Fine. But don’t expect me to open up to you either.’

    3. Josh gave her a piece of his story. She didn’t ask for it, he just gave it. She took a leap with him when talking, and he was returning the favor. I’m still trying to figure out what she might be feeling. Maybe she’s worried that she’ll let him down. I also think she’s worried because of her lack of honesty. Yes, she has confided in him BUT he doesn’t even know her real name.
    She has one of his secrets now, which means she needs his trust. That’s the reason he gave it to her though: it was his giving her his trust. They’ve become ‘best friends’ lately, she’s earned his trust. They work together, eat together, watch General Hospital together . . . he has no reason to hide who he is anymore. This is important to their relationship now because its opened a wall. They can share things about themselves, and they can trust in each other.

    I loved the layout this week 🙂 I think it really works to use dialogue that way. Great job, Alex!
    -Em

    Like

Leave a Reply

